Hitchhiker's guide to printing one's scores (this time for real!)

Printing, binding, promotion and the business side of engraving.
NeeraWM

Hitchhiker's guide to printing one's scores (this time for real!)

Post by NeeraWM »

Dear all,

I have been publishing my own scores for almost four years but, so far, I have kept my distances from the printing and distribution side, due to how menacing it all looked to me. My experience as an engraver for publishing houses gave me the impression that you needed to have a print run of 400+ copies for each score to make it viable. After that you needed to store them, plus organise shipping and distribution worldwide. Knowing how impossibly expensive is shipping anything in from Italy (even within it), I simply abandoned the idea. Moreover, in Italy one would need to open a publishing house business (my engraving one wouldn’t suffice), then have a web store, add a system for electronic invoicing emission, and, finally, set up a way to handle returns. In short, too complicated for the volumes I was seeing.

Reading OCTO’s two excellent posts (here: viewtopic.php?f=13&p=10057#p10057 and here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=482) I understood that, after all, there was a way (said with Mandalorian voice tone)!
Since I am now pretty serious in going to the bottom of this, I will write here a few questions & reflections about the process, hoping that someone with more knowledge or that simply has gone through it would agree to help me set this up. I have tried to contact OCTO directly via the private message feature of the forum (as he encourages us to do in the first article), but, so far, he has not opened the message.

POINT ONE: Hiring vs Selling